All That Glitter

“and the Golden Globe goes to…”

image

Don’t you just love the anticipation those words bring? I know I do! While all of us is still on Golden Globe high, allow me to share my highs and lows during the ceremony which I have to say is the best so far! Congratulations to the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) for keeping the show interesting and fresh every year!

First of all, I have to commend the two hosts of the show which are both incredibly talented and beautiful and just knock the socks out of everybody! Well done Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, I wouldn’t be surprised if we see them again next year. There are so many spiels and jokes and banters to choose from and among my top favorites were the one when Tina mocked Taylor Swift to “stay away from Michael J. Fox’s son!” – that one’s gotta hurt, ouch! Another favorite of mine was the joke about James Franco being high during last year’s Oscar and the one with Meryl Streep having the flu and “we hear she’s very good at it!”. Who wouldn’t remember that time when Tina & Amy were both up against in the Best Actress in a TV series category but found themselves losing to Girls’ Lena Dunham? That one’s a classic!

image

Now, I could blab on for hours about how witty the hosts were but I gotta think about you.. So, moving on! I know many of you will agree if I say Kristen Wiig & Will Ferrell’s spiel was the best among many presenters, am I right? They stole the show with that hilarious banter and I’m still laughing as I type this, trust me. Another highlight of the show was the surprise appearance of the 42nd President of the USA, Bill Clinton to present Steven Spielberg’s Lincoln – I’m telling you, only Spielberg could pull this kind of megawatt surprise and as I watch, I felt my jaw drop in gasp! I have a confession (my fellow Julia Roberts fans will understand this), I shed a little tear upon seeing Julia walk the stage in a Valentino jumpsuit no less to present the last award which is the Best Picture for Argo… Don’t judge me! In my defense, I know Julia would be presenting during the ceremony but I had my hopes down for I haven’t seen her for the first hours and I think if she’s there, the cameras’ gonna want to at least capture her so I was really taken aback!

image

On to the most prestigious award of the night, the Cecil B. Demille award which Jodie Foster accepted with a really impactful and tear-jerking speech. I am not saying this just because she was honored but I’ve truly admired her for I have watched her films and thought how brave and bold she is in every character she portrays. Aside from her flawless acting, she also writes and directs and does all of this while keeping a life away from the public eye. Kudos!

and yes Jodie, “normal is not something to aspire…”

Silence of the Lambs & Taxi Driver
Silence of the Lambs & Taxi Driver

I’ve made the liberty of putting up little collages of the big winners during the night! Enjoy as you browse through!

T-B Daniel Day Lewis for Lincoln; Jessica Chastain for Zero Dark Thirty; Jennifer Lawrence for Silver Lining's Playbook; Hugh Jackman for Les Miserables
T-B Daniel Day Lewis for Lincoln; Jessica Chastain for Zero Dark Thirty; Jennifer Lawrence for Silver Lining’s Playbook; Hugh Jackman for Les Miserables

Ben Affleck wins big as the Best Director while nabbing Best Picture along the way! Way to go!
Ben Affleck wins big as the Best Director while nabbing Best Picture along the way! Way to go!

The cast of Les Miserables celebrating their big win! How cute are they?
The cast of Les Miserables celebrating their big win! How cute are they?

And yeah, for the low? This is my favorite TV show so i’m kind of bummed Modern Family didn’t win anything at all, that’s all. But hey, look at how much fun they’re having!
image

Before I end this post, I’ll request you to take a moment of silence for these gorgeous men who are looking dapper in their designer suits!

Bradley Cooper; Robert Downey Jr.; Daniel Craig; Leonardo Dicaprio
Bradley Cooper; Robert Downey Jr.; Daniel Craig; Leonardo Dicaprio

This year’s awards season officially began so stay tuned for more!

-F

all photos are from Google

4 thoughts on “All That Glitter

  1. Hey very cool web site!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally?I’m satisfied to find numerous helpful info here in the put up, we need work out extra strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  2. I have been surfing on-line greater than three hours nowadays, but I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It is beautiful worth sufficient for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the net will probably be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a comment